2. The Constitutional Monarchy System


The Constitutional Monarchy system of Thai Democratic form of Administration divides sovereign power into 3 branches:

  • Judicial Branch - Headed by the President of the Supreme Court

  • Legislative Branch - Headed by the President of the National Assembly (Speaker of the House of Representatives)

  • Executive Branch - Headed by the Prime Minister


The Courts of Justice are classified into three levels consisting of the Courts of First Instance, the Courts of Appeal and the Supreme Court.



The National Assembly consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Speaker of the House of Representatives is also the President of the National Assembly. The President of the Senate is concurrently the Vice-President of the National Assembly.



The Royal Thai Government administrations are in 3 levels :


Central Administration

  • Independent Public Agencies

    • 9 Independent Public Agencies, as Mandated in the 1997 Constitution

    • 2 Independent Public Agencies

    • 8 Gov Agencies Not Under OPM or Ministries

    • 14 Ministries + 1 Bureau

  • Departments, State Enterprises, Universities


Provincial Administration

  • 75 Changwat, 795 Amphoe, 81 King Amphoe, 7,255 Tambon, 71,362 Muban


Local Administration

  • 1,129 Municipalities - 20 Nakhon Municipalities, 79 Muang Municipalities, 1,030 Tambon Municipalities

  • 75 Changwat Administration Organization

  • 6,745 Tambon Administration Organization

  • 214 Tambon Council

  • 2 Special Administrations

    • Bangkok Metropolitan Administration

    • Pattaya City



Please read our disclaimer before using.   Copyright  All rights reserved. 

Any comments mail to: